Regulatory Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  510(k) submission preparation timeline

This message was posted by a user wishing to remain anonymous
    Posted 30-Jan-2023 08:15

I am new to the industry and will be preparing my first Traditional 510(k).  Can anyone provide a generic timeline on preparing my submission kindly?  I will have about 3 months to prepare.  What I should do first and the next logical steps?  I will also use eStar.  Thank you in advance.

• 2.  RE: 510(k) submission preparation timeline

Posted 30-Jan-2023 13:50
    It generally takes a few weeks' time or less for my firm to prepare a Traditional 510(k).  But that is assuming all of the supporting data (e.g., verification studies, validation studies, labeling, etc.) are generated, vetted, and ready.  If the supporting data are still being developed and generated, then the timeline is contingent on the timelines of those developmental outputs plus the aforesaid few weeks.

------------------------------
    Kevin Randall, ASQ CQA, RAC (U.S., Europe, Canada)
    Principal Consultant
    Ridgway, CO
    United States
    © Copyright 2023 by ComplianceAcuity, Inc. All rights reserved.

• 3.  RE: 510(k) submission preparation timeline

Posted 31-Jan-2023 04:56
    Hello Anon,

In line with what Kevin said, it highly depends on the source material and supporting data in the quality of the information, completeness, and readily available the information.  It can take from a few weeks to a few months to prepare a submission.  If everything is good, complete, and easy to organise in the submission, it can be done in less than a month - just plug-n-play.  If this is your first 510(k) submission assembling, you might want to have an experienced person complete a review of the submission prior to be made with FDA.

Richard Vincins ASQ-CQA, MTOPRA, RAC
    Vice President Global Regulatory Affairs

• 4.  RE: 510(k) submission preparation timeline

Posted 31-Jan-2023 12:08
    Hi Anon,